
  
   

          
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 

 
 

 

 

  

 
 

 
 

 

  

                                                           
 

IN THE MISSOURI GAMING COMMISSION 
 

In Re: 	  )  
) DC-16-176 

Tropicana St. Louis, LLC ) 

PRELIMINARY ORDER FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION  

Comes now the Missouri Gaming Commission acting in its official capacity pursuant to 
11 CSR 45-13.050, and states as follows: 

1.	 The Missouri Gaming Commission (the "Commission" or “MGC”) is a state commission 
created under Chapter 313, RSMo 2000,1 with jurisdiction over gaming activities, including 
riverboat gambling activities, in the State of Missouri. 

2.	 The Commission issued Tropicana Entertainment, Inc., a Class A gaming license to develop 
and operate Class B gaming licenses in the State of Missouri.  

3.	 Tropicana Entertainment, Inc., is the parent organization or controlling entity of Tropicana 
St. Louis, LLC (“Company”).    

4.	 The Commission issued a Class B riverboat gambling license to the Company to conduct 
games on and operate the excursion gambling boat known as Lumiere Place Casino & Hotels 
(“Casino”). 

5.	 As the holder of a Class B license, the Company is subject to the provisions of §§ 313.800 to 
313.850, RSMo, and the regulations promulgated thereunder by the Commission. 

STATEMENT OF FACTS2 

6.	 On Monday, January 4, 2016, Sergeant T. M. Barthelmass, assigned to the Gaming Division 
at Lumière Place, arrested a 19 year old female for 12 counts of "Present false identification 
to gain entry to gambling boat,” seven counts of "Purchase/attempt to purchase, or possession 
of liquor by minor," and four counts of "Person under the age of 21 make/attempt to make a 
wager while on an excursion gambling boat.  

7.	 A review of surveillance revealed that the above-referenced underage female was allowed 
access onto the gaming floor on six different occasions between December 30, 2015 and 
January 4, 2016.  

8.	 Between January 1 and January 4, 2016, 17 individual licensees employed by the Casino 
checked the underage individual’s identification but failed to recognize that it was a 

1 All statutory references are to RSMo 2000, unless otherwise specified 
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fraudulent ID and allowed the minor to enter and/or remain on the casino floor, make wagers, 
or purchase and/or consume alcoholic beverages.  

9.	 Between January 1 and January 4, 2016, 35 individual licensees employed by the Casino 
failed to check the minor’s identification to verify her identity and/or to verify that she was 
over 21 years of age, before allowing her to make wagers or purchasing and/or consuming 
alcoholic beverages. 

10. The above-referenced underage female was on the casino floor for more than 21 hours over 
that four-day period. 

LAW 

11. Under § 313.805(6), RSMo, the Commission may assess any appropriate administrative 
penalty against a licensee, including but not limited to, suspension, revocation or penalties of 
an amount determined by the Commission. 

12. Section 313.812.14, RSMo, states, in pertinent part, as follows: 

A holder of any license shall be subject to imposition of penalties, suspension or 
revocation of such license, or if the person is an applicant for licensure, the 
denial of the application, for any act or failure to act by himself or his agents  or 
employees, that is injurious to the public health, safety, morals, good order  and 
general welfare of the people of the state of Missouri, or that would discredit or 
tend to discredit the Missouri gaming industry or the state of Missouri unless the 
licensee proves by clear and convincing evidence that it is not guilty of such 
action. The commission shall take appropriate action against any licensee who 
violates the law or the rules and regulations of the commission. Without limiting 
other provisions of this subsection, the following acts or omissions may be 
grounds for such discipline. 

(1) Failing to comply with or make provision for compliance with sections 
313.800 to 313.850, the rules and regulations of the commission or any 
federal, state or local law or regulations; 

(2) Failing to comply with any rule, order or ruling of the commission or its 
agents pertaining to gaming[.] 

13. Section 311.310.1, RSMo, states, in pertinent part, as follows: 

Any licensee under this chapter, or his employee, who shall sell, vend, give away 
or otherwise supply any intoxicating liquor in any quantity whatsoever to any 
person under the age of twenty-one years, …, shall be deemed guilty of a 
misdemeanor…. 
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14. Section 313.817.4, RSMo, forbids “a person under twenty-one years of age [from making] a 
wager on an excursion gambling boat and shall not be allowed in the area of the excursion 
boat where gambling is being conducted.” 

15. Section 313.817.7, RSMo, states as follows: 

It shall be unlawful for a person to present false identification to a licensee or a 
gaming agent in order to gain entrance to an excursion gambling boat, cash a 
check or verify that such person is legally entitled to be present on the excursion 
gambling boat. Any person who violates the provisions of this subsection shall be 
guilty of a class B misdemeanor for the first offense and a class A misdemeanor 
for second and subsequent offenses. 

16. Section 313.830.2, RSMo, states as follows: 

2. A person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor for the first offense and a class A 
misdemeanor for the second and subsequent offenses for any of the following:  

(1) Permitting a person under the age of twenty-one to make a wager while on 
an excursion gambling boat;  

(2) Making or attempting to make a wager while on an excursion gambling 
boat when such person is under the age of twenty-one years; or  

(3) Aiding a person who is under the age of twenty-one in entering an 
excursion gambling boat or in making or attempting to make a wager 
while on an excursion gambling boat. 

17. Title 11 CSR 45-5.053, states, in pertinent part as follows: 

(3) The holder of a Class A license is expressly prohibited from the following 
activities: 

* * * 

(D) Failing to comply with or make provision for compliance with all federal, 
state and local laws and regulations pertaining to the operation of a 
license, including … violating alcoholic beverage laws or rules; 

* * * 

(M) Failing to report to the commission known or suspected violations of 
commission rules and applicable law[.] 

18. Title 11 CSR 45-9.060 states, in pertinent part, as follows: 

(3) Violations of the minimum internal control standards [(“MICS”)] by a Class A 
licensee or an agent or employee of a Class A licensee are deemed to be 
unsuitable conduct for which the Class A licensee and/or its agent or 
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employee is subject to administrative penalty pursuant to Section 313.805(6), 
RSMo, and 11 CSR 45-1 et seq. 

(4) Violations of the Class A licensee’s internal control system [(“ICS”)] by the 
Class A licensee or an agent or employee of the Class A licensee shall be 
prima facie evidence of unsuitable conduct for which the Class A licensee 
and/or its agents or employees may be subject to discipline pursuant to 
Section 313.805(6), RSMo, and 11 CSR 45-1 et seq. 

19. Title 11 CSR 45.10.030 states, in pertinent part, as follows: 

(1) Licensees shall promptly report to the commission any facts which the 
licensee has reasonable grounds to believe indicate a violation of law (other 
than minor traffic violations), minimum internal control standard requirements 
or commission rule committed by licensees, their employees or others, 
including, without limitation, the performance of licensed activities different 
from those permitted under their license. 

* * * 

(3) In the event that a licensee or employees of the licensee knows or should have 
known that an illegal or violent act has been committed on or about the 
licensed premises, they shall immediately report the occurrence to law 
enforcement authorities and shall cooperate with law enforcement authorities 
and agents of the commission during the course of any investigation into an 
occurrence. 

* * * 

(7) All occupational licensees shall have a working knowledge of Chapter 
313.800, RSMo et seq., Code of State Regulations, Title 11 Division 45, and 
the internal controls of the Class A or B licensees for whom they are currently 
employed by as they pertain to the responsibilities and limitations of their job.  

20. Title 11 CSR 45-12.090(3) states as follows: 

Sale to Minors and Other Persons. An excursion liquor licensee shall not, through 
actions of his/her own or of an employee, sell, vend, give away its or otherwise 
supply any intoxicating liquor in any quantity whatsoever to any person under the 
age of twenty-one (21) years, to any person intoxicated or appearing to be in the 
state of intoxication, or to a habitual drunkard. A licensee shall not permit any 
person under the age of twenty-one (21) years, any intoxicated person, or any 
habitual drunkard to consume intoxicating liquor on the licensed premises. 

21. MICS, Chapter N, § 3.01 requires Class B licensees to include detailed procedures in their 
ICS regarding intoxicated persons. 
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22. The Casino’s ICS, Chapter N, § 3.01(B) provides, in pertinent part, as follows: 

Intoxicating liquor shall not be served to anyone under the age of twenty-one or to 
any guest who is apparently intoxicated.  Security officers shall assist in the 
verification of the age of a potential under age guest.   

23. Both the MICS, Chapter N § 4.01, and the Casino’s ICS, Chapter N § 4.01, forbid anyone 
under 21 years of age from gaining access to the casino floor or being allowed to place a 
wager. 

24. Both the MICS, Chapter N § 4.04, and the Casino’s ICS, Chapter N § 4.04 state that “the 
enforcement of admission and gambling restrictions for persons under 21 years of age shall 
include, at a minimum, checking their government-issued photo identification.” 

VIOLATIONS 

25. The actions or omissions of employees or agents of the Company as described above 
constitute failure of the Licensee to adequately monitor and verify that all patrons are over 
the age of 21 before allowing them to enter the casino, make or attempt to make any wagers, 
and purchase or consume alcoholic beverages, thereby violating 311.310, 313.817 and 
313,830 RSMo, 11 CSR 45-5.053, 11 CSR 45-10.030, 11 CSR 45-12.090, the MICS, 
Chapter N §§ 4.01 and 4.04, and the Company’s ICS, Chapter N §§ 3.01, 4.01 and 4.04.  

26. The Company is therefore subject to discipline for such violations pursuant to §§ 313.805(6) 
and 314.812.14(1) and (2), RSMo and 11 CSR 45-9.060(3) and (4). 

PENALTY PROPOSED 

27. Under § 313.805(6), RSMo, the Commission has the power to assess any appropriate 
administrative penalty against the Company, as the holder of a Class B license.   

28. THEREFORE, it is proposed that the Commission fine Tropicana St. Louis, LLC, the 
amount of $5,000 for the violations set forth herein. 

__________________________________________ 
 Herbert M. Kohn 
 Chairman 
 Missouri Gaming Commission 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
  

The undersigned hereby certifies that he caused a true and correct copy of the foregoing 
to be mailed, postage prepaid, this  day of September, 2016, to: 

Brian Marsh 

General Manager 


Lumière Place Casino & Hotels
 
999 North Second 


St. Louis, MO 63102 


_________________________________________ 
 Herbert M. Kohn 
 Chairman 
 Missouri Gaming Commission 
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